When clicking the language function, a connection with Google is established and your personal data is forwarded to Google!

Reset language

Roads and paths

Who has what duties?

The tasks of street cleaning in Bocholt are divided between the residents and the city. Within the enclosed localities, there are the following responsibilities for cleaning:

Residents:

  • Pavements
  • Combined footpaths and cycle paths
  • Roadways, as far as they are residents' roads

The adjacent owners of the street or pavement have to clean the traffic area twice a week.

City of Bocholt / ESB:

  • Cycle paths
  • public squares
  • Roadways, as far as they are not residential streets.

The street directory attached to the Street Cleaning Statutes provides information on which streets are residential streets (group 5). All other streets are cleaned by the city.

Sweeper (Photo: Max Biermann)

Data for every street - quickly at a glance

The further division into groups 1 to 4 and 6 to 7 says something about what kind of streets it is and how often the street is cleaned. The different cleaning intervals are determined by the city on the basis of the criteria of traffic importance, frequency and degree of pollution.

For streets that are cleaned by the city, the city charges street cleaning fees.

The online service "Straßenreinigung" (street cleaning ) makes it possible to easily and quickly find out the cleaning rhythm applicable to the respective street, the cleaning tariff as well as the obligations of the abutting owners. After entering the street and clicking on "send", this information is displayed.

Information on winter road maintenance can be found in the information sheet on winter road maintenance.

What does street cleaning cost?

Citizens whose property is accessed from a residential street (group 5) do not pay street cleaning fees. If the access road is cleaned by the city of Bocholt, the fee is based on the frontage length (length of the side of the property on the road accessing the property), the cleaning frequency and the classification of the road.

Current rates for the street cleaning fee(as of 01.01.2024):

  • Group 1: 1.79 euros / m / year
  • Group2: 3.58 euros / m / year
  • Group3: 5.37 euros / m / year
  • Group4: 12.53 euros / m / year

  • Group 5: no fees as neighbourhood cleaning

  • Group6: 1.07 Euro / m / year
  • Group7: 2.15 Euro / m / year

The fee is billed via the city of Bocholt's property tax assessment. Further questions on the amount of the street cleaning fee can be answered by the city's Taxes and Fees department.

Example: If the property has a frontage of 15 metres on a Group 1 road, the owner pays a street cleaning fee of 15 x 1.79 euros = 26.85 euros per year.

Street cleaning

Making sure everything goes smoothly: Winter service

The ESB is on duty in case of icy roads and snow. In the period from 15 November to 15 March, an on-call service ensures that the staff can carry out their work as quickly as possible if the weather situation requires it. However, since the staff cannot be everywhere at the same time with their vehicles, clearing and gritting is organised according to urgency. Priority is given to main roads, particularly dangerous stretches of road and school bus routes.

Further information can be found in the information sheet on winter road clearance services.Questions about winter road clearance services call 02871/24 63 - 81 or 02871/24 63 - 80.

What do I have to do as a resident?

(Source: §5 Street Cleaning Statutes of the City of Bocholt)

Cleaning obligations as a resident in snowy and icy conditions

1)

Between 7.30 a.m. and 7 p.m., pavements must be kept free of snow, slush and ice in a minimum width of 1 m, in case of a smaller width in the total width, or kept passable with gritting agents by the persons responsible for cleaning.

If there is no footpath, a strip 1 m wide along the boundary of the property shall be deemed to be a footpath. The gritting materials must be such that they do not cause unreasonable damage to the footwear of passers-by or to the road surface. Snow may be deposited at the boundary of the pavement or footpath and the road embankment, but not at public transport stops and hydrants.

2) At stops for public transport and school buses, the pavements must be kept clear of snow and gritted in case of icy conditions in such a way as to ensure the safest possible access and egress. At street junctions or intersections, those responsible for cleaning must provide crossings for pedestrians up to the middle of the carriageway.
3) In the event of a thaw, gullies and gully inlets must be kept clear for the run-off of meltwater. Shovelling and chipping away of snow and ice shall not damage the road surface.
4) Ice (slippery) rinks may not be created on roads. Ice rinks must be immediately gritted with gritting agents by those responsible for cleaning.
5) Hydrant lids that are covered with snow or frozen over must be kept visibly clear by those responsible for cleaning.

Frequently asked questions

Are footpaths and cycle paths cleared of snow and ice?

The requirements for securing pedestrian traffic are somewhat higher than for vehicular traffic. But there are limits here as well: Since all residents are obliged by the street cleaning statutes to keep one metre of pavement at their properties free of snow and ice, pedestrian traffic is already secured over a large area.

In addition, the waste disposal and service company services important and heavily frequented areas for pedestrian traffic, e.g. crossings at traffic light intersections.

Since the city of Bocholt is a bicycle-friendly city and wants to make cycling as safe as possible, the ESB includes almost all cycle paths in the winter maintenance. A 1.5 metre wide footpath is currently kept clear for pedestrians in the city centre.

Why do snowploughs drive with the blade raised?

If a vehicle is on the road with the blade raised, this may be for the following reason: After clearing and then spreading when the snow cover is closed, the salt has to soak in for a while. In addition, the following traffic pushes the gritted salt into the top layer of snow.

On the return trip, the top blade of the snowplough is raised so that the salt is not immediately removed.

Why are not all roads cleared?

The following applies here: The city is only obliged to clear and grit snow and ice in order to protect traffic within built-up areas at points on the roadway that are important for traffic and at the same time dangerous.

Therefore, in Bocholt there is an order for clearing the roads depending on the importance for traffic and the urgency. Priority is given, for example, to blind intersections on main roads. Particularly dangerous or blind spots can be cleared more than once, while less risky spots are cleared later or not at all.

The waste disposal and service company does not serve roads that are only used by residents.

What is the right way to behave?

We all use roads and paths every day. No matter how a road user moves on the streets and roads of the city of Bocholt, they must protect themselves by taking appropriate measures.

In case of slippery snow and ice, this means:

  • Suitable footwear
  • Winter tyres
  • adapted behaviour
  • adapted driving style
  • only travelling on absolutely necessary roads

The wishes and demands on winter services vary greatly. However, it is impossible to make and keep all areas completely safe. The waste disposal and service company strives to meet as many needs as possible. The main focus is on road safety, but also on environmental protection and costs.

Working people should be able to get to their workplace safely, children to school and kindergarten. Trees and plants at the roadside should not be too heavily polluted by salt.

Beim Anklicken der Sprachfunktion wird eine Verbindung mit Google hergestellt und Ihre personenbezogenen Daten werden an Google weitergeleitet!

Sprache zurücksetzen

Straßen und Wege

Wer hat welche Pflichten?

Die Aufgaben der Straßenreinigung werden in Bocholt zwischen den Anliegern und der Stadt aufgeteilt. Innerhalb der geschlossenen Ortslagen gibt es folgende Zuständigkeiten für die Reinigung:

Anliegerinnen und Anlieger:

  • Gehwege
  • Kombinierte Geh- und Radwege
  • Fahrbahnen, soweit es sich um Anliegerstraßen handelt

Die an die Straße bzw. den Gehweg angrenzenden Anlieger haben die Verkehrsfläche zweimal wöchentlich zu reinigen.

Stadt Bocholt /  ESB:

  • Radwege
  • öffentliche Plätze
  • Fahrbahnen, soweit es sich nicht um Anliegerstraßen handelt

Das als Anlage zur Straßenreinigungssatzung geführte Straßenverzeichnis gibt Auskunft, bei welchen Straßen es sich um Anliegerstraßen (Gruppe 5) handelt. Alle anderen Straßen werden von der Stadt gereinigt. 

Kehrwagen (Foto: Max Biermann)

Daten für jede Straße - schnell auf einen Blick

Die weitere Aufteilung in die Gruppen 1 bis 4 und 6 bis 7 sagt etwas darüber aus, um welche Art von Straßen es sich handelt und wie häufig die Straße gereinigt wird. Die unterschiedlichen Reinigungsintervalle werden von der Stadt auf der Basis der Kriterien Verkehrswichtigkeit, Frequentierung und Verschmutzungsgrad festgelegt.

Für Straßen, die von der Stadt gereinigt werden, erhebt die Stadt Straßenreinigungsgebühren.

Der Online-Dienst "Strassenreinigung" ermöglicht, den für die jeweilige Straße geltenden Reinigungsrhythmus, den Reinigungstarif sowie die Pflichten der Anieger einfach und schnell zu ermitteln. Nach der Eigabe der Straße und dem Klick auf "senden werden diese Informationen angezeigt.

Informationen zum Winterdienst erhalten Sie im Infoblatt zum Winterdienst.

Was kostet die Straßenreinigung?

Bürgerinnen und Bürgern, deren Grundstück von einer Anliegerstraße (Gruppe 5) erschlossen wird, zahlen keine Straßenreinigungsgebühren. Wird die erschließende Straße von der Stadt Bocholt gereinigt, richtet sich die Gebühr nach der Frontlänge (Länge der Grundstücksseite an der das Grundstück erschließenden Straße), der Reinigungshäufigkeit und der Klassifizierung der Straße.

Aktuelle Gebührensätze für die Straßenreinigungsgebühr (Stand: 01.01.2024):

  • Gruppe 1:    1,79 Euro / m / Jahr
  • Gruppe 2:    3,58 Euro / m / Jahr
  • Gruppe 3:    5,37 Euro / m / Jahr
  • Gruppe 4:  12,53 Euro / m / Jahr

 

  • Gruppe 5: keine Gebühren da Anliegerreinigung

 

  • Gruppe 6:    1,07 Euro / m / Jahr
  • Gruppe 7:    2,15 Euro / m / Jahr

Die Gebühr wird über den Grundbesitzabgabenbescheid der Stadt Bocholt abgerechnet. Weitere Fragen zur Höhe der Straßenreinigungsgebühr beantwortet der städtische Geschäftsbereich Steuern und Gebühren.

Beispiel: Liegt das Grundstück mit einer Front von 15 m an einer Straße der Gruppe 1 zahlt der Eigentümer eine Straßenreinigungsgebühr in Höhe von 15 x 1,79 Euro = 26,85 Euro pro Jahr.

Strassenreinigung

Damit alles glatt geht: Der Winterdienst

Bei Schnee- und Eisglätte ist der ESB im Einsatz. In der Zeit vom 15. November bis zu 15. März sorgt eine Rufbereitschaft dafür, dass die Mitarbeiter schnellstmöglich ihrer Arbeit nachgehen, wenn die Wetterlage es erfordert. Da die Mitarbeiter mit ihren Fahrzeugen aber nicht überall gleichzeitig sein können, wird das Räumen und Streuen nach Dringlichkeit organisiert. Priorität haben die Hauptverkehrsstraßen, besonders gefährliche Straßenabschnitte und die Schulbuslinien. 

Weitere Informationen dazu gibt's im Infoblatt zum Winterdienst.Fragen zum Winterdienst unter 02871/24 63 - 81 oder 02871/24 63 - 80

Was muss ich als Anlieger tun?

(Quelle: §5 Straßenreinigungssatzung der Stadt Bocholt)

Reinigungspflichten als Anwohner bei Schnee und Glätte

1)

Gehwege müssen in der Zeit von 7.30 bis 19 Uhr in einer Mindestbreite von 1 m, bei geringerer Breite in der Gesamtbreite, durch die Reinigungspflichtigen von Schnee, Schneematsch und Eis freigehalten bzw. mit abstumpfenden Mitteln begehbar gehalten werden.

Soweit kein Gehweg vorhanden ist, gilt als Gehweg ein Streifen von 1 m Breite entlang der Grundstücksgrenze. Die Streumittel müssen so beschaffen sein, dass durch sie das Schuhwerk von Passanten und die Straßenoberfläche nicht unzumutbar beschädigt werden. Der Schnee darf an der Grenze von Bürgersteig bzw. Gehweg und Fahrdamm, jedoch nicht an Haltestellen öffentlicher Verkehrsmittel und an Hydranten abgelagert werden. 

2) An Haltestellen für öffentliche Verkehrsmittel und Schulbusse müssen die Gehwege so von Schnee freigehalten und bei Glätte bestreut werden, dass ein möglichst gefahrloser Zu- und Abgang gewährleistet ist. Bei Straßeneinmündungen oder -kreuzungen haben die Reinigungspflichtigen jeweils bis zu Fahrbahnmitte für die Fußgänger Übergänge zu schaffen.
3) Bei Eintritt von Tauwetter sind für den Abfluss des Schmelzwassers Rinnen und Rinneneinlaufschächte freizuhalten. Durch das Abschaufeln und Loshacken von Schnee und Eis darf die Straßenoberfläche nicht beschädigt werden.
4) Eis-(Schlinder-)Bahnen dürfen auf Straßen nicht angelegt werden. Angelegte Eisbahnen sind unverzüglich von Reinigungspflichtigen mit abstumpfenden Mitteln zu bestreuen.
5) Überschneite und überfrorene Deckel von Hydranten sind von Reinigungspflichtigen sichtbar freizuhalten. 

Häufige Fragen

Werden Geh- und Radwege von Schnee und Eis befreit?

Für die Sicherung des Fußgängerverkehrs gelten etwas höhere Anforderungen als an den Fahrverkehr. Aber auch hier gibt es Grenzen: Da alle Anlieger laut Straßenreinigungssatzung verpflichtet sind, einen Meter Gehweg an ihren Grundstücken von Schnee und Eis frei zu halten, ist der Fußverkehr schon großräumig gesichert.

Zusätzlich bedient der Entsorgungs- und Servicebetrieb für den Fußverkehr wichtige und stark frequentierte Flächen, z.B. Übergänge an Ampelkreuzungen.

Da die Stadt Bocholt eine fahrradfreundliche Stadt ist und den Radverkehr so sicher wie möglich gestalten will, bezieht der ESB fast alle Radwege in den Winterdienst mit ein. Für Fußgänger wird in der Innenstadt aktuell ein 1,5 Meter breiter Gehweg freigehalten.

Warum fahren Räumfahrzeuge mit hochgezogenem Räumschild?

Sollte ein Fahrzeug mit angehobenem Schild unterwegs sein, kann das folgenden Grund haben: Nach dem Räumen und anschließendem Streuen bei geschlossener Schneedecke muss das Salz eine Zeit lang einwirken. Außerdem drückt der nachfolgende Verkehr das gestreute Salz in die oberste Schneeschicht.

Auf der Rücktour wird das oberste Schild des Räumfahrzeugs angehoben, im das Salz nicht sofort wieder abzuräumen.

Warum werden nicht alle Straßen geräumt?

Hier gilt: Eine Räum- und Streupflicht seitens der Stadt besteht bei Schnee- und Eisglätte zum Schutz des Fahrverkehrs innerhalb geschlossener Ortslagen nur an verkehrswichtigen und gleichzeitig gefährlichen Stellen der Fahrbahn.

Darum gibt es in Bocholt für die Räumung eine Reihenfolge je nach Bedeutung für den Verkehr und Dringlichkeit. Vorrang haben hier beispielsweise unübersichtliche Kreuzungen an Hauptverkehrsstraßen. Besonders gefährliche oder unübersichtliche Stellen können so durchaus mehrfach bedient werden - weniger risikoreiche Stellen dafür später oder gar nicht.

Reine Anwohnerstraßen werden vom Entsorgungs- und Servicebetrieb nicht angefahren.

Wie verhalte ich mich richtig?

Wir alle nutzen täglich Straßen und Wege. Egal, wie sich ein Verkehrsteilnehmer im Straßen- und Wegenetz der Stadt Bocholt bewegt, er muss sich durch geeignete Maßnahmen selbst schützen.

Bei Schnee- und Eisglätte heißt das:

  • Geeignetes Schuhwerk
  • Winterbereifung
  • angepasstes Verhalten
  • angepasste Fahrweise
  • nur zwingend notwendige Wege zurücklegen

Die Wünsche und Ansprüche an den Winterdienst sind sehr unterschiedlich. Es ist allerdings unmöglich, alle Flächen vollständig gefahrlos zu gestalten und zu halten. Der Entsorgungs- und Servicebetrieb bemüht sich, möglichst vielen Bedürfnissen gerecht zu werden. Im Vordergrund steht dabei die Verkehrssicherheit, aber auch der Umweltschutz und die Kosten.

Berufstätige sollen sicher an ihren Arbeitsplatz, Kinder zur Schule und zum Kindergarten gelangen. Bäume und Pflanzen am Straßenrand sollen nicht zu stark durch Salz belastet werden.